top of page
Search
  • marleymiyamoto

journal #3- joiking

Some of my thoughts, and feelings I had while watching the joiking videos are :

- praising to a god/ higher power

- sadness

- somber

- mystery

- hopefullness

- power

- death of a friend or family member

Languages can be impoverished because there are times where words and languages don't always satisfy your needs of getting across what you need to say. Different art forms can be used to portray your emotions and can send a clearer message of what it is you're trying to say and express. It could be through movement such as dance or through visuals such as art or through sound such as music. As a dancer I know that story telling is way more than words. I have cried from dances many times before. In fact, I believe that words are the least powerful way to show emotions sometimes. This is because words will always have boundaries. I believe that art forms are a universal language. Most of the time you don't need subtitles or context to figure out what different dances or songs or painting convey. I think that is the beauty in art forms because in a way it becomes your own interpretation of what you think the choreographer or composer or artist meant to portray. I think that art becomes a very intimate and personal language to individuals and communities alike.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page