top of page
Search
  • marleymiyamoto

kokoro noir


“It is not you in particular that I distrust, but the whole of humanity.”



“You see, loneliness is the price we have to pay for being born in this modern age, so full of freedom, independence, and our own egoistical selves.”


“Watch birth and death:

The lotus has already

Opened its flower.”


"The grave stood like some monstrous thing, forever separating us."


So this is a picture of the Meiji Jingu or the Meiji Shrine which was built for Emperor Meiji and his wife. I took this when I went to Japan a couple summers ago. I thought this would be a good picture to add because it was built during the same era as the book was set.


"I will commit junshi if you like; but in my case, it will be through loyalty to the spirit of the Meiji era."

So this was another picture I took at the Meiji shrine and it’s one of the oldest buildings there which spoke commitment of the Meiji era to me.


"The gulf between us was too great."


I added this picture to represent the amount of metaphors including nature and how they use nature to represent themes like mystery, beauty and movement.


Finally this picture, kinda a weird one sorry is the Eiffel Tower. I chose this because the Eiffel Tower to me is one of the biggest representation of progress and growth because of how long it took to build it. I connected this to the book because the whole novel follows Sensei and K’s relationship and growth.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page