top of page
Search
  • marleymiyamoto

melancholy- the "happiness of being sad"


Untranslatable Melancholy Word: Koev halev (Hebrew)

Translates to: "a certain kind of empathy. If you can't watch people suffering or miserable, particularly if you love them, because you feel it so strongly yourself to the point of causing you serious physical pain then this is the term for you."

I'm very invested in my friends and families lives, so when something goes wrong in their lives, I always want to be there to help them through it. The problem with getting too invested and caring too much about the people you love, is when they hurt, you hurt. Seeing people sad or suffering makes me feel the same sadness. This is a great word for me to use to a friend who may be struggling because I can use it to explain and show them how their sadness can effect the ones who love them.


Melancholy Quote: “Melancholy is the happiness of being sad.” ― Victor Hugo

I chose this image because I took this at a restaurant in Seattle while looking at colleges over this past spring break. This past trip has really got me thinking about my future, like going to a new school, with new people, in a whole new place. So visiting all these schools have made me both sad and happy. It's a different kind of nervous I experienced this whole trip because it's not bad nerves but like happy, excitement nerves. This picture gives me the "happiness of being sad" because theres such a good memory behind this image. Visiting schools with my family, and having such a good experience at all the schools I went to made me both sad and happy.


Ode to Melancholy: "She dwells with Beauty—Beauty that must die; " ― John Keats

My favorite line from the whole poem is the line is this quote above from the third stanza. This line stood out to me because of the realness of it. This line casts some foreshadowing that she (the mistress) may soon die as well. It also gives the realism that beauty doesn't last forever. I also kind of inferred it with the mistress being a metaphor of depression or melancholy. I find that the author was able to knit in some false beauty into a poem about melancholy which is mostly sadness and there was almost a little light in the whole poem itself.



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page